This section of the website contains suburb profiles based on the 2006 Census.

The geographic boundaries of Sydney change over time and different definitions are used for different purposes. The 2006 profile includes suburbs within the Local Government Authorities of Ashfield, Auburn, Bankstown, Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Botany Bay, Burwood, Camden, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury, City of Sydney, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Holroyd, Hornsby, Hunters Hill, Hurstville, Kogarah, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Leichhardt, Liverpool, Manly, Marrickville, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Penrith, Pittwater, Randwick, Rockdale, Ryde, Strathfield, Sutherland, Warringah, Waverley, Willoughby and Woollahra.

You can download a map of the region from this site.

Although efforts have been made to cover the whole of Sydney, not all suburbs could be profiled, and some smaller suburbs have been combined with neighbouring areas. However, over 650 suburbs with a large enough population in 2006 could be presented as detailed community profiles.